Who won the Mackey Award?

Who won the Mackey Award?

Last year’s winner was Florida’s Kyle Pitts. Other past winners of the Mackey Award include Dallas Clark (Iowa, 2002), Tyler Eiffert (Notre Dame, 2012), Nick O’Leary (Florida State, 2014), Jake Butt (Michigan, 2016), and T.J. Hockenson (Iowa, 2018).

Who is the Mackey Award named after?

Kyle Pitts
Florida’s Kyle Pitts was named the winner of the John Mackey Award, which is presented annually to college football’s most outstanding tight end.

Who won the 2021 Mackey Award?

Mike O’Laughlin
West Virginia tight end Mike O’Laughlin was recently named to the 2021 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List, given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end selected by the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

Who votes for the Mackey Award?

Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee.

Who is tight end university?

The passion was clearly on display for the start of on-field workouts for what Kittle, former NFL tight end Greg Olsen and Kelce dubbed Tight End University (TEU). The three-day event offered a chance for some of the best tight ends in the NFL to come together to share trade secrets both on and off the field.

What is the Rimington Trophy in college football?

The Rimington Trophy is presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I College Football. Since its inception, award has raised over $4.5 million for the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis.

Who won the Outland Trophy this year?

Penei Sewell
College Football Awards – Outland Trophy

Outland Trophy
2019 Penei Sewell Oregon
2018 Quinnen Williams Alabama
2017 Ed Oliver Houston

Who was at TEU?

Wednesday kicked off the first annual Tight End University (TEU) held in Nashville, Tenn. San Francisco tight end George Kittle teamed up with Kansas City Chiefs Travis Kelce and former Carolina Panthers Greg Olsen to help unite tight ends from around the league in a three-day affair.

Who was invited to tight end university?

Kelce, Kittle and Olsen expected a handful of players for the inaugural event until interest outweighed their capacity. The only rookie invited to the event was the No. 4 overall draft pick in the 2021 NFL draft, Falcons TE Kyle Pitts. Gray is also hosting a youth football camp in his hometown on Friday.

Who won the 2020 Rimington Award?

lineman Landon Dickerson
On Thursday evening, it was announced that University of Alabama offensive lineman Landon Dickerson was the 2020 Rimington Trophy winner, which honors the nation’s best center. The two other finalists were Ohio State’s Josh Myers and Iowa’s Tyler Linderbaum.

When was the John Mackey Award first given?

Established in 2000 by the Nassau County Sports Commission, the award is given annually to the tight end who best exemplifies the play, sportsmanship, academics, and community values of Pro Football Hall of Fame tight end John Mackey .

When did John Mackey get inducted into the Hall of Fame?

The award is given yearly to the top college tight end. On September 15, 2007, Mackey’s alma mater, Syracuse University, retired number 88 in his honor. On September 27, 2017, Mackey was installed, posthumously, into the Nassau County High School Athletic Hall of Fame as an athlete. His widow, Sylvia, accepted the honor on his behalf.

Where did John Mackey rank in the NFL?

Mackey has been included in several lists of great NFL players. In 1999, The Sporting News ranked Mackey at 48 on their list of “The 100 Greatest Football Players.”. He also placed at number 42 on the NFL Network’s list of the “Top 100 Football Players” in 2010. In 2001, the John Mackey Award was established by the Nassau County Sports Commission.

When did John Mackey play for Syracuse University?

Mackey played three seasons at Syracuse University (1960-1962), alternating between the running back, tight end, and wide receiver position. His first two seasons were on the same team as Ernie Davis, the 1961 Heisman Trophy winner.