What states have reciprocity for electrical license?

What states have reciprocity for electrical license?


  • Colorado.
  • Maine.
  • Nebraska.
  • New Hampshire.
  • New Mexico.
  • North Dakota.
  • Oklahoma.
  • South Dakota.

What states recognize Utah electrical license?

Does My Utah Electrical License Work in Any Other State?

  • Journeyman Electrician: Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, or Wyoming.
  • Master Electrician: Idaho, Oregon, or Wyoming.

What states does Texas journeyman electrical license reciprocate with?

Texas has master license reciprocity agreements with North Carolina and Louisiana, as well as journeyman license reciprocity agreements with Arkansas, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wyoming.

What is electrical reciprocity?

California requires that all electricians get a certification before they can work in the state, and doesn’t recognize certifications from other states.

Is Texas electrical license reciprocity?

Currently, Texas has 12 total reciprocity agreements in place for their electrical contractor’s licenses. They do not have reciprocity agreements for any other types of contractors at this time.

What state pays the most for electricians?

Best-Paying States for Electricians The states and districts that pay Electricians the highest mean salary are District of Columbia ($79,870), New York ($79,480), Illinois ($78,790), Hawaii ($77,530), and Virgin Islands ($75,470).

What is a journeyman electrician license?

A Journeyman Electrician is licensed to perform electrical work under the general supervision of a Master Electrician.

What does reciprocity mean in professional licensing?

In some instances, reciprocity agreements are in place to make it easier for someone who already holds a license in one state to obtain a license in another state. State licensing boards can provide detailed information on the existence of any reciprocity agreements they have with other states.

What are the levels of an electrician?

Most states have three stages of electrician licensing: apprentice, journeyman, and master.

  • Electrician Apprentice. Apprenticeships generally include a classroom component as well as substantial on-the-job training.
  • Journeyman Electrician.
  • Master Electrician.
  • Specialty License Types.

How to check your journeyman electrician license reciprocity?

RECIPROCITY STATE LICENSE – Check YES or NO to indicate if you have held your journeyman electrician license for at least one year and that the license is currently active. The Department will contact the state licensing authority that certifies you are licensed as a journeyman electrician and that your license is in good standing. 13.

Is there such a thing as a journeyman electrician?

Some states do not have a license classification for journeyman or master electricians. Some states have multiple specialty journeyman, master electrician, and/or electrical contractor licenses, each with a unique set of requirements. Some states have reciprocal electrician licenses, which facilitate working across state lines.

How to get a reciprocal electrician license in Colorado?

Colorado electricians applying for a reciprocal license in a participating state must contact that state for specific requirements and fees. Hold or employ a licensed master electrician to serve as the responsible individual for the company.

How to get an electrical journeyman license in Alaska?

NOTE: Alaska no longer has a reciprocal agreement with the state of Utah. A copy of the current Electrical Journeyman License from one of the above mentioned reciprocal states. ** NOTE** You must have held this license for at least one year and the license must be active at the time of reciprocation.