What are the member states?

What are the member states?

A member state is a state that is a member of an international organization or of a federation or confederation. Since the World Trade Organization (WTO) and the International Monetary Fund (IMF) include some members that are not sovereign states, neither organization ever speaks of “member states”.

Is the EU a state or nation?

In the video game series Mass Effect set in the 22nd century, the European Union is a sovereign state. In the backstory of the Fallout series, several European nations joined together after the end of the Second World War, becoming known as the European Commonwealth.

Why EU is not a state?

The EU is not a State; it derives its authority from its Member States. The EU, although it has some attributes of a State, is clearly not a State; nor do the citizens of the Union make up a single Nation.

How many European member states are there?

27 EU countries
Over time, more and more countries decided to join. The Union currently counts 27 EU countries….The 27 member countries of the EU.

Austria Italy
Belgium Latvia
Bulgaria Lithuania
Croatia Luxembourg

Is the US a member state?

The United States of America is a federal republic consisting of 50 states, a federal district (Washington, D.C., the capital city of the United States), five major territories, and various minor islands.

Is the USA a member of the OAS?

Membership. 21 original OAS members (1948): Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, United States, Uruguay, and Venezuela.

What caused the rise of nation-states?

For our purposes, we’ll focus on two main factors which led to the rise of nation-states. They are: the decline of feudalism and the decline of Church power. Feudalism is a political and economic system based on land ownership.

Could the EU become a country?

November 1, 1993, Maastricht, Netherlands
European Union/Founded