How many times have South American teams won the World Cup?

How many times have South American teams won the World Cup?

National association football teams from CONMEBOL have won the tournament nine times, including Brazil’s record five championships. CONMEBOL countries have hosted the finals five times….Overview.

Team Uruguay
No. 13
Years 1930, 1950, 1954, 1962, 1966, 1970, 1974, 1986, 1990, 2002, 2010, 2014, 2018
Best result 1st

When did Brazil win the World Cup?

Brazil is the most successful national team in the FIFA World Cup, being crowned winner five times: 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994 and 2002.

What South American country has won the most World Cups?

Number of World Cup titles won by Latin American soccer squads from 1930 to 2018, by country

Characteristic Number of World Cup titles
Brazil (1958,1962, 1970, 1994, 2002) 5
Argentina (1978, 1986) 2
Uruguay (1930, 1950) 2

Who has won more World Cups Europe or South America?

A European nation has lifted the trophy 11 times while South Americans have been victorious 9 times. Other European countries to have won are Italy, England, France and Spain.

Who won the world Cup 2020?

Bayern Munich
Bayern Munich won the match 1–0 for their second FIFA Club World Cup title and fourth club world championship…

Who are the South American nations in the World Cup?

At the 1966 World Cup, four South American nations participated. Argentina and Uruguay lost in the quarter-final, while Brazil and Chile were eliminated after the group stage.

How many times has Brazil won the Under 20 World Cup?

FIFA Under-20 World Cup champions list, past winners since 1977-2019. Argentina has won the most FIFA Under 20 World Cup / Youth Championships titles 6 times, Brazil has won the championship-world cups 5th times.

Who was the winner of the 1970 World Cup in South America?

Three South Americans participated in the 1970 World Cup. Peru qualified for the first time, having made one previous appearance in the 1930 tournament (which did not require qualification). The 1970 World Cup won by Brazil, who beat Italy 4–1 in the final.

When was the last time South America was in the World Cup?

Three South American nations – Argentina, Paraguay and Brazil – participated in the 1958 World Cup. Argentina appeared for the first time since 1934, while this would be Paraguay’s last finals appearance until 1986.