How many major languages are spoken in the US?

How many major languages are spoken in the US?

A U.S. Census Bureau report published in 2015 found at least 350 languages in the United States that are spoken in homes across the country.

What are the two main languages spoken in the US?

English is, unsurprisingly, the most commonly spoken language across the US, and Spanish is the second-most-common in 48 states and the District of Columbia.

What are the top 5 languages spoken across North America?

The 10 Most Spoken Languages In North America

  1. English. With approximately 334 million speakers, English easily comes in at number one on the list of most spoken languages in North America.
  2. Spanish.
  3. French.
  4. Chinese (all varieties)
  5. Tagalog.
  6. Vietnamese.
  7. German.
  8. Arabic.

What language is spoken most 2020?

In 2020 English is the most widely spoken language in the world with more than 1.2 billion people practicing it. After that, the Chinese language, with more than 1.120 million people speaking it, and Hindi that stops” at about 637 million. At the foot of the podium, Spanish (538 million) and French (278 million).

What is the most popular language in America?

English is undoubtedly the most widely spoken language in the US. However, many will be surprised how many other languages are spoken in different states.

What is the dominant language in USA?

What other languages do they speak in the USA?


  • Chinese
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Korean
  • Persian
  • Polish
  • Portuguese
  • How many people speak what languages in the United States?

    English is the most common language spoken in the United States with approximately 239 million speakers. Spanish is spoken by approximately 35 million people.

    What are the 6 official languages?


  • Chinese
  • English
  • French
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • What are the most common languages in the United States?

    The most commonly used language in the United States is English (specifically, American English), which is the de facto national language.