How do I get my esthetician license in Illinois?

How do I get my esthetician license in Illinois?

Esthetician License Requirements and Training Schools in Illinois

  1. Step 1: Complete a State Approved Esthetics Program.
  2. Step 2: Complete and Submit the Esthetician Application for Examination.
  3. Step 3: Take and Pass the Esthetician Examination.
  4. Step 4: Renew Your IL Esthetician License Every Two Years.

How long does it take to become a esthetician in Illinois?

Complete an Esthetician Training Program. Illinois standards require that you complete seven hundred and fifty (750) hours of formal esthetician training. Esthetician school will introduce you to everything from skincare theory to the practical facets of beautifying skin.

How much is esthetician license in Illinois?

The fee for a license is $30 and is to be submitted with the application. 2) Examination. Applicants for any examination shall be required to pay, either to the Division or to the designated testing service, a fee covering the cost of providing the examination. 3) Licensure by Acceptance of Examination.

What are estheticians allowed to do in Illinois?

Cosmetologists and estheticians are prohibited from using any technique, product, or practice intended to affect the living layers of the skin. (Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding and Nail Technology Act of 1985; 225 ILCS 410/3-1 and 410/3A-1.)

Can estheticians do microneedling in Illinois?

A number of states have recently narrowed the scope of practice for estheticians in a medical spa. For instance, both Illinois and California now consider microneedling a medical procedure, regardless of needle depth.

Can estheticians do cavitation in Illinois?

It has finally been stated that estheticians in IL cannot perform these procedures. There are cosmetic needling devices FDA approved for use up to .

How much do medical estheticians make in Illinois?

How much does a Medical Esthetician make in Illinois? The average Medical Esthetician salary in Illinois is $50,187 as of August 27, 2021, but the range typically falls between $45,318 and $57,614.

Where do estheticians make most money?

Best-Paying States for Estheticians The states and districts that pay Estheticians and Skincare Specialists the highest mean salary are Colorado ($54,810), Washington ($54,770), Hawaii ($53,010), Wyoming ($52,490), and Massachusetts ($50,440).

How to become an esthetician in the state of Illinois?

After you complete your education, you will need to complete an Illinois application for examination and licensure. On this application, you will need to indicate how you are applying for your license, whether by a request to take the exam, or by endorsement. Taking the exam is the most common way to attain an Illinois license.

How to check your cosmetology license in Illinois?

Illinois Cosmetology License Verification. If you need to verify a license for a salon or person, then you can do so by visiting the Illinois Board of Cosmetology license verification website. From there you can search for the person or business and see if there are any disciplinary actions on record.

How to renew your license as an esthetician?

In order to renew, you must have completed a minimum of 10 hours of continuing education during the previous two years. This education must be directly related to esthetics topics and your work in the field. Joining professional associations can help you find additional opportunities for education.

How to renew a professional license in Illinois?

To begin the renewal process for your individual license, simply select your profession under Professions Currently in Renewal below, then click the option on that professional renewal page for the action you wish to take. To complete your request, follow the instructions which you will see on the screen.