Where should I start with Conan?

Where should I start with Conan?

“The Phoenix on the Sword” is the first novel in the “Conan the Barbarian” series and was released in the year 1932. When readers first see Conan, he is king.

How many Conan the Barbarian stories are there?

Conan the Barbarian Book Series (3 Books) In a meteoric career that spanned a mere twelve years before his tragic suicide, Robert E.

What time period is Conan the Barbarian?

the Hyborian age
Conan is an adventurer-warrior from Cimmeria who lives in the Hyborian age, an era that supposedly follows the disappearance of the mythical continent of Atlantis. Conan was created by American writer Robert E. Howard and first appeared in short stories published in Weird Tales magazine in the early 1930s.

Is Conan the Barbarian a Viking?

Personality and character. Conan is a Cimmerian. The writings of Robert E. Howard (particularly his essay “The Hyborian Age”) suggests that his Cimmerians are based on the Celts or perhaps the historic Cimmerians.

Are Conan books good?

The Howard Conan stories are very good, but also keep in mind, very direct. You won’t get a lot of symbolism or subtext with the Conan stories–but it’s refreshing to see a character that direct and forthright. Other than the Howard works, most literary Conan stuff ranges in quality from “meh” to “hot garbage”.

What order should I read Conan books?


  • “Legions of the Dead”
  • “The Thing in the Crypt”
  • Conan the Defiant.
  • “The Tower of the Elephant”
  • Conan and the Sorcerer.
  • Conan the Mercenary.
  • Conan: The Sword of Skelos.
  • Conan the Destroyer.

Is Red Sonja part of Conan?

Arnold Schwarzenegger was originally to have reprised the role of Conan in this film, as the Red Sonja character was a spin-off of the original Conan novels. Ultimately, a new character was created who was essentially Conan in everything but name.

How many Conan books are there?

fifty novels
In total, more than fifty novels and dozens of short stories featuring the Conan character have been written by authors other than Howard. This article describes and discusses notable book editions of the Conan stories.

Which is the first book in the Conan series?

Below is a list of these three Conan series in order of when the books were originally released (and in chronological order when necessary): Publication Order of Conan (Gnome Press) Books. Conan the Conqueror (1950) The Sword of Conan (1952) King Conan (1953) The Coming of Conan (1953) Conan the Barbarian (1954) Tales of Conan

When did Conan the Barbarian chronologies come out?

These revised versions of the chronology guided the order in which the stories were arranged when they were compiled into book form in the early series published by Gnome Press (1950–1957), Lancer/Ace (1966–1977), and Bantam (1978–1982), and text from the chronology was used in these series to bridge gaps between the stories.

Are there any Conan stories in the Gray chronology?

The Gray chronology incorporated all then-published Conan stories, including all the Tor volumes, but treated inconsistently Tor pastiches whose portrayals of Conan’s early life contradict Howard’s account of it.

Is there a chronology between Conan and Howard?

However, at least since 1983, when Joe Marek pointed out some inconsistencies, the chronology has become a matter of debate. One of the key issues that divides Conan and Howard fans is that a chronology focuses attention on the character rather than Howard’s (or anyone else’s) body of work.