When did EU enlargement start?

When did EU enlargement start?

Since then, the EU’s membership has grown to twenty-seven, with the latest member state being Croatia, which joined in July 2013. The most recent territorial enlargement of the EU was the incorporation of Mayotte in 2014.

When did the first Central and Eastern European Union enlargement take place?

The European Council in Luxembourg in December 1997 endorsed the Accession Partnership as the key instrument in strengthening the pre-accession strategy. The first Accession Partnerships for the countries of Central and Eastern Europe were decided in March 1998 and updated in 1999.

Who joined EU in 2007?

On 1 January 2007, Bulgaria and Romania became member states of the European Union (EU) in the fifth wave of EU enlargement.

Which countries joined the EU in the most recent wave of enlargement?

Ten new countries join the EU: Czech Republic, Estonia, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. This was the largest single enlargement in terms of people, and number of countries. Austria, Finland and Sweden join the EU. The 15 members now cover almost the whole of western Europe.

Who was part of the enlargement of the EU in 2004?

Part of the same wave of enlargement was the accession of Bulgaria and Romania in 2007, who were unable to join in 2004, but, according to the Commission, constitute part of the fifth enlargement. This section needs expansion. You can help by adding to it. (September 2011)

Who was a member of the European Union in 2004?

Following the 2007 enlargement, most countries placed restrictions on the new states, including the most open in 2004 (Ireland and the United Kingdom) with only Sweden, Finland and the 2004 members (minus Malta and Hungary).

Which is the biggest enlargement of the European Union?

The Accession Treaty enters into force and the European Union’s biggest enlargement ever becomes a reality with 10 new countries – Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, the Slovak Republic, and Slovenia – together representing more than 100 million citizens, joining the European Union.

When did Bulgaria and Romania join the EU?

The 2007 enlargement of the European Union saw Bulgaria and Romania join the European Union (EU) on 1 January 2007. Together with the 2004 enlargement of the European Union, it is considered part of the fifth wave of enlargement of the European Union. 1 Negotiations 1.1 Cyrillic.