What is the WPI scale?

What is the WPI scale?

The WPI quantifies the extent of bodily pain on a 0-19 scale by asking patients if they have had pain or tenderness in 19 different body regions (shoulder girdle, hip, jaw, upper arm, upper leg, lower arm, and lower leg on each side of the body, as well as upper back, lower back, chest, neck, and abdomen) over the past …

What are the 5 regions of pain for fibromyalgia?

Some of the changes made between the 2011 diagnostic criteria and the ones used today are that the “pain areas” that are counted are the left upper body, right upper body, left lower body, right lower body, and the center of the body (usually low back).

How is fibromyalgia diagnosed?

There is no widely accepted medical test to diagnose fibromyalgia. Instead, diagnostic tests are performed to see if another condition could be causing the symptoms. Blood tests are usually ordered to rule out conditions with similar symptoms.

Are the ACR 2010 diagnostic criteria for fibromyalgia better than the 1990 criteria?

In our study, ACR 2010 classification criteria were found to be more sensitive than ACR 1990 classification criteria, but specificity was lower. Besides, the ACR 2010 classification criteria do not require a tender point examination and may be more advantageous in assessing physical and psychological symptoms.

Would fibromyalgia show up on a blood test?

Fibromyalgia Diagnosis. Fibromyalgia is a chronic health condition that involves widespread pain throughout your body, tenderness in certain areas, and fatigue. It can be difficult for your doctor to diagnose fibromyalgia. There are no lab tests or imaging tests available for it.

Is fibromyalgia a disability under Social Security?

Describing your fibromyalgia symptoms alone will not qualify you for Social Security disability. You have to be specific about signs and physical findings related to fibromyalgia and pain and how that impacts your ability to work. The Social Security staff will consider all your symptoms, including pain.

What is the pathology of fibromyalgia?

Fibromyalgia is generally considered to be a stress-related disorder that involves abnormal functioning in the hypothalamic-pituitary-adrenal (HPA) axis. Similarly to other psychiatric disorders, fibromyalgia has been associated with the inability to suppress cortisol.

What can I claim if I have fibromyalgia?

As a sufferer of Fibromyalgia you may be entitled to a range of welfare benefits. The benefits you may be entitled to due to fibromyalgia include; Attendance Allowance (AA), Disability Living Allowance (DLA), Personal Independence Payment (PIP), and Employment and Support Allowance (ESA).

What is the WPI score for fibromyalgia?

The WPI score (Part 1) is greater than or equal to 7 AND the SS score (Part 2a & b) is greater than or equal to 5 OR 1b. The WPI score (Part 1) is from 3 to 6 AND the SS score (Part 2a & b) is greater than or equal to 9. 2. Symptoms have been present at a similar level for at least 3 months. 3.

What are the diagnostic criteria for fibromyalgia?

In 2010, the ACR proposed a new version of the diagnostic criteria based exclusively on the use of two scales: the Widespread Pain Index (WPI) and the Symptom Severity (SS) Scale. The WPI comprises a list of 19 painful areas (score range: 0–19; see Figure 3). Patients report whether each point hurts her/him.

What should your WPI and symptom severity scale be?

You have a widespread pain index (WPI) score of seven or higher and a symptom severity scale (SS) score of five or higher. Or you have a WPI score of three to six and a SS score of nine or higher. You’ve experienced symptoms at a similar level for at least three months. You don’t have another disorder that could explain your symptoms.

What should my SS score be for fibromyalgia?

SS scale score of 5 or more AND WPI of 7 or more. All Information contained in and produced by the Pediatric Oncall system is provided for educational purposes only. This information should not be used for the diagnosis or treatment of any health problem or disease.