What is the highest Usphs Honor Award?

What is the highest Usphs Honor Award?

The Presidential Unit Citation (PUC) is the highest unit award issued to a uniformed service.

Why does surgeon general wear a uniform?

Why does the surgeon general wear a uniform and what does it signify? Members of the PHS are given military-style commissions and naval-style ranks and they wear uniforms to reflect those titles. The idea is that the PHS is a mobile force ready to be on the frontlines of whatever health crisis may arise.

Why does the surgeon general wear medals?

The medal is awarded in the name of the United States Surgeon General for actions of exceptional achievement to the cause of public health and medicine.

What does USPHS stand for?

U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps
The U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps is an elite team of more than 6,000 well-trained, highly qualified public health professionals dedicated to delivering the nation’s public health promotion and disease prevention programs and advancing public health science.

Where can Usphs officers work?

In the service of health Officers advance our nation’s public health, serving in agencies across the government, as physicians, nurses, dentists, veterinarians, scientists, engineers and other professionals.

When did the US Public Health Service create the Distinguished Service Medal?

In 1958, the Commissioned Corps of the United Public Health Services established an awards program to recognize service and achievements of its members. The 1958 authorization created the Distinguished Service Medal, the Meritorious Service Medal, and the Commendation Medal.

What kind of medal is the USPHS Achievement Medal?

To set it apart, the OSM pendant is finished in rhodium. Early examples of these medals are engraved “Department of Health/Education and Welfare.” Issues after 1980 have blank reverses. The other award created by the 1958 law was the USPHS’ Achievement Medal. It uses the same design as the OSM but in a copper finish.

How many Commendation Medals are awarded in the military?

Five Commendation Medals are awarded by branch or service. From left to right: Joint Service, Army, Navy & Marine Corps, Air Force, and Coast Guard. Five Commendation ribbons are awarded by branch or service. Top row: Joint Service, Army. Bottom row: Navy & Marine Corps, Air Force, Coast Guard.

When was the Air Force Commendation Medal created?

Air Force Commendation Medal. This medal was authorized by the Secretary of the Air Force on March 28, 1958, for award to members of the armed forces of the United States who, while serving in any capacity with the Air Force after March 24, 1958, shall have distinguished themselves by meritorious achievement and service.