How do you classify occupancy?

How do you classify occupancy?

Now let’s look at how each occupancy group is defined to better understand how a space is used within each occupancy type.

  1. Group A Occupancy – Assembly.
  2. Group B Occupancy – Business.
  3. Group E Occupancy – Educational.
  4. Group F Occupancy – Factory and Industrial.
  5. Group H Occupancy – High Hazard.
  6. Group I Occupancy – Institutional.

What is Group I 3 occupancy?

308.5 Group I-3. This occupancy shall include buildings or portions of. buildings and structures that are inhabited by more than five one or. more persons who are under restraint or security. An I-3 facility is. occupied by persons who are generally incapable of self preservation.

What is a Class B occupancy?

Business Group B occupancy includes, among others, the use of a building or structure, or a portion thereof, for office, professional or service-type transactions, including storage of records and accounts. Business occupancies shall include, but not be limited to, the following: Airport traffic control towers.

What is NFPA occupancy classification?

The occupancy hazard rating is a way to classify an occupancy with a number that can be used in the formula to determine minimum water suppliesneeded for the structure. In the formula, the occupancy hazard number ranges from 3 through 7, and the occupancies with a greater hazard receive lower classification numbers.

What are the main types of occupancy classifications?

The main recognized occupancy types under California law are:

  • Group A [Assembly]
  • Group B [Business]
  • Group C [Camps]
  • Group E [Education]
  • Group F [Factory]
  • Group H [High Hazard]
  • Group I [Institutions]
  • Group M [Mercantile]

What is the definition of group I-1 occupancy?

Group I-1 occupancy includes buildings, structures or portions thereof for more than 16 persons who reside on a 24-hour basis in a supervised environment and receive custodial care.

What do you need to know about occupancy classification?

When starting any design of new building construction or even a renovation one of the first steps is to determine the building’s Occupancy Classification. This is very important because each classification has specific Dos, Don’ts, and regulations specific to the classification and groups.

How is occupancy determined in International Building Code?

Chapter 3 of the International Building Code (IBC) sets the requirements of how to identify a buildings occupancy characteristics based on how a space or spaces are used within a building.

How is residential occupancy classified in the IBC?

The residential occupancy group in the IBC consists of four different categories: R-1, R-2, R-3, and R-4. These subcategories are based on anticipated occupant characteristics and there are similar occupancy classifications found in NFPA 101/5000.