How do I sue my landlord in Philadelphia?

How do I sue my landlord in Philadelphia?

How do I file a Small Claims Complaint?

  1. Go to Municipal Court at 1339 Chestnut Street, 10th floor. During to the COVID-19 Pandemic, you must call the court at 215-686-2910 to schedule an in-person appointment.
  2. Ask to file a Small Claims Complaint.
  3. Ask to file a Petition to Proceed In Forma Pauperis (IFP).

How do I file a complaint against a landlord in Philadelphia?

If you need help filling out the form, contact the Fair Housing Commission at (215) 686-4670 or [email protected] Submit your intake form by mail, fax, or email. Alternatively, you can fax your form to (215) 686-4684 or email it to [email protected] Sign a formal complaint.

Can landlords evict tenants in Pa right now?

Pennsylvania Supreme Court Order The PA Supreme Court extended the eviction moratorium from April 30, 2020 to May 11, 2020. The Order closes most courts and prohibits any eviction, ejectment, or other displacement of PA residents for failure to make payments or pay property taxes through May 11, 2020.

Can I sue my landlord in PA?

Suing Your Landlord in Pennsylvania Justice Court. You can sue for the amount of the security deposit that your landlord wrongfully withheld, up to the state limit. The maximum amount for which you can sue in Pennsylvania Justice Court is $12,000.

What laws protect tenants?

Federal Landlord-Tenant Laws The major federal laws that affect all landlords and property managers are the Fair Housing Act and the Fair Credit Reporting Act. The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination due to race, color, national origin, religion, sex familial status or disability.

Where can I file a complaint against my landlord in Pennsylvania?

How do I file a complaint against a landlord in PA? For assistance filing a housing discrimination complaint, call toll-free, PA FAIR HOUSING HOTLINE, 855-866-5718. The form at the link below is used to file complaints of illegal discrimination in housing & commercial property.

How much notice does a landlord have to give a tenant to move out in PA?

In the case of leases that are for a year or longer, you’re required to give at least 30 days notice. You also need to give tenants notice if you plan on evicting them. How much notice is required depends on the reason for the eviction. In Pennsylvania, it’s usually anywhere from 10 to 30 days.

What are three responsibilities you have as a tenant?

These include: Taking good care of the property (including a garden if you have one) Keeping the property safe by locking doors/windows. Paying the agreed rent, even if repairs are needed or you are in dispute with the landlord.